India Part 2: Shimla

IMG_4857

After a day and a half in Delhi, I found the city a bit overwhelming.  It’s one of the most densely populated cities in the world.  For example, my hometown of Columbus, Ohio has roughly 1,400 people per square kilometer.  Delhi has almost 30,000.  There’s also air pollution and trash all over the streets.  It’s really filthy, and the idea of spending a whole week there didn’t appeal to me.  I was glad I had booked some tours and was heading out of the city and up to the mountains, the Himalayan Mountains that is.  I took a night bus to a popular tourist destination in the summer called Shimla.

A little history first.  During the 18th and early 19th centuries, India gradually came under control of the British through the actions of the British East Indies Company.  What started as a desire to simply trade goods with the Indian people led to the British taking control of most of the country.  I hope to someday read more about the details of this.  Some Indians told me that what started out as innocent trade led to greed by the English and eventually through a series of bribes and military action, they acquired direct control of most of India.  Shimla was used by the British as the capital of India during the summer months due to the cooler temperatures.  The British viceroy over India lived in this big house, which has now been turned into a think tank.IMG_4932

Most people have probably heard of India’s most famous citizen… Mahatma Gandhi.  He was responsible for leading peaceful, non-violent protests of British rule in the early 20th century which, along with a lot of other circumstances, eventually led to India gaining its independence in 1947.  Shimla no longer serves as the capital during any time of year, but is still a really beautiful place that gets a lot of visitors every year.

The plan after my arrival in Shimla was to find my guide, Deepak, who Mehar had arranged to meet me when my bus arrived.  I had taken a night bus, and just woke up when we stopped at what seemed like three quarters of the way up a mountain.  There were about a dozen locals touting for the people on the bus to hire them as guides.  I didn’t want to just get off the bus and say, “I’m here for my guide”.  That would be stupid, so I waited.  Deepak eventually saw me, and got on the bus and introduced himself.  It was still early in the morning, so not much was open.  We walked through the town and Deepak pointed out some of the sites.  The air was clean in Shimla, and there wasn’t the pollution or filth of Delhi.  Best of all, there were some amazing mountain views.  I was immediately glad with my decision to get out of Delhi right away and see more of the country.

IMG_4850 IMG_4854

The plan for my accommodation in Shimla was to do a home-stay with a local family.  I was really looking forward to this, and I didn’t realize it until we got to the home I was staying in that Deepak was not just my guide, but also my host.  He lived with his mom and brother in a small home at the top of one of the hills in the village.  His mom didn’t speak a word of English, but she knew I was hungry after riding on a bus all night.  I had a traditional Northern India breakfast of paratha, curd, butter and spicey pickles.IMG_4853

Paratha is a type of Indian bread that is cooked in oil with onion and I believe cauliflower.  It’s heavy, and really fills you up.  I finished my first piece, and Deepak’s mom placed another one on my plate fresh out of the frying pan.  Two more pieces later, and I had to plead for her to stop since I was full.  I guess I should have left a little on my plate to indicate I was done.  Deepak and I then headed back out to explore Shimla. IMG_4860

IMG_4864

The buildings and architecture were nothing special.  One might say they were even a little rundown.  But I think the mountain views made up for it.IMG_4887 IMG_4868 IMG_4891IMG_4856 IMG_4878

India is mostly Hindu, but there is a small percentage of Christians as evidenced by this church in the main town square.IMG_4902

Every night when we got back to Deepak’s home, his mom would make us some delicious hot chai.  Chai or masala tea as it’s often referred to is different than other chais or teas you might have heard of.  It starts as a black tea, and often brewed in a sugary milk.  Spices such as cardamom, ginger and sometimes cinnamon are added for extra flavor.  When done right, it’s my favorite tea of any kind I’ve tried in the whole world.  Around nine o’clock every night, Deepak’s mom would serve dinner.  The meals were so good, and were honestly some of the best Indian food I had while in the country.  There was usually chapati or naan (Indian bread), along with basmati rice, daal (lentils) and some kind of vegetable dish.IMG_4903IMG_5010

In India, foreigners are advised to never drink the tap water due to the potential for getting sick from bacteria or other contaminants.  However, in Shimla, the water is sourced from the surrounding mountains, so it’s clean and safe to drink.  I was hesitant at first, but Deepak kept assuring me it was fine, so I went for it.  You know what, he was right.  I drank tap water everyday in Shimla and never got sick.

Monkeys, monkeys, monkeys…

I could probably do an entire blog post on all the monkeys I saw in India.  They’re in every city I visited, and I never got tired of them.  Growing up in the States, I had only seen monkeys in zoos.  I don’t believe they run wild anywhere in the US, but I could be wrong.  They’re so funny to watch, and I think other tourists would agree they’re a constant source of entertainment. That said, you really have to be careful around them.  They’re wild animals, and some are diseased and can make you really sick if one happens to bite you.  Mostly, they’re dangerous for the reasons outlined in the warning sign below…IMG_4863

Deepak warned me never to look the monkeys in the eye as it was a sign of aggression and could provoke them.  Also, never carry food, and watch your cell phone.  He told me one trick some of the smarter monkeys have figured out is to steal your cell phone or your glasses, and then you’ll have to give them food to get them back.  Clever little bastards.IMG_4920IMG_4922

The monkeys are a very common sight around dumpters, and you usually see trash strewn all around the ground where the monkeys have raided it looking for scraps of food.IMG_4936

Within the Hindu religion, there is a monkey god named Hanuman.  In Shimla, there’s a temple on top of the highest hill in honor of this god.  A giant 30 meter statue can be seen from miles around, and the hike up to the top is pretty strenuous, but Deepak took me up there one afternoon.IMG_4937IMG_4956

There are monkeys literally everywhere at the top of the hill where the statue is.  I asked Deepak if the temple was built here because of all the monkeys, and he said it was just the opposite… the monkeys started arriving after the statue and temple were built.  I found that a little eerie if true.  Did the monkeys really see the statue and feel drawn to it?  I didn’t research it, so I’ll have to take Deepak’s word for it.IMG_4948

Here’s the temple itself.  It’s not very big.IMG_4949

No monkeys were harmed in the making of this blog entry.  The stick I’m carrying in the photo below is a precaution.  The monkeys in Shimla generally avoid people and will run away if you approach them.  However the monkeys near the temple are different.  After years of being fed and photographed by toursits, they’ve become accustomed to people, and can be very bold sometimes.  Deepak said they will approach you unless you have a stick in your hand.  Then they stay away thinking you’ll attack.  Everyone walking around up there was carrying a stick to keep the monkeys at bay.IMG_4950

The photo below is the best one I took of any monkey my entire time in India.IMG_4952IMG_4965

As a foreigner, the monkeys are so entertaining.  I couldn’t help myself, and always wanted to stop and photograph them.  Right after I took this photo, there was a commotion and the monkeys went a little nuts.  Deepak and I booked it out of there fast.IMG_4967

Republic Day

As I mentioned, India gained independence from the British in 1947.  However, the new constituion establishing the Republic of India was signed on January 26, 1950.  This date is celebrated as Republic Day.  I had no idea of this when I arrived in India in late January, so it was a pleasant surprise.  I heard there would be parades, music and dancing, so I was really looking forward to it when the day arrived.  IMG_4909IMG_4916IMG_5015

That morning, Deepak and I met up with a friend of his who was a photographer and had been hired to take pictures of the festivities for the local newspaper.  Deepak told me to just stick with his friend, and I soon found myself moving past all the crowds, and through all the security checkpoints.  Before I knew what was going on, I had a front row seat to the performance that was about to take place.  I made a short video of the dance below… here.IMG_5019 IMG_5021

There were twelve different groups of dancers, representing the twelve different provinces or states of India.  There were dancers, displays of acrobatics, and in one case, a martial arts demonstration.IMG_5030 IMG_5035 IMG_5039 IMG_5050

There was a really big crowd that day.  I think Deepak mentioned something about an extra 100K people coming into the city center for the event.  IMG_5056

On another day, Deepak took me on a day trip out of Shimla to a nearby city called Tatapani which means “hot water” in Hindi.  It refers to the hot springs in the area.  Here are a few photos from the day.IMG_4981 IMG_4984 IMG_5004

Not to brag about my ability to eat spicy food, but I think I did pretty well in India.  Indians always try to dumb-down food for foreigners, but on this day, there was nothing to dumb-down.  The samosas and sauce were pre-made and I ordered one for me and Deepak.  Deepak actually couldn’t finish his because it was too spicy for him, but I managed to eat all of mine 😛IMG_4999

So that was how I spent my time in the Himalayan village of Shimla.  It’s not at all what I imagined India to be like.  However, India is a huge country, and I would quickly come to realize that it has just about every type of scenery and landscape you can imagine.

The home-stay with Deepak’s family made me rethink how I’ve been handling my accommodation during my travels.  I’ve gone back and forth between Couchsurfing and hostels, but I think a home-stay is something I’ll look into in the future.  Hostels help you meet other travelers, and can be great, but you often miss out on the local connection.  Couchsurfing is nice if your host has time to show you around, but you can’t really Couchsurf with someone for a whole week.  I always try to spend 5-7 days in each place to get a feel for it, and finding a CS host or hosts for the whole time can be time-consuming.  With a homestay, you’re paying the family, but it’s on par or less than a hostel.  Also, you might get a guide out of the experience.  It was a perfect way to spend my time in Shimla.  Deepak and family, thank you for the memorable time I had in your village.IMG_5085

Leave a Reply

