Chicago Part 2: 2012 Couch Crash Edition

For Labor Day weekend, I came back to where I started the trip.  I was in the process of making my way across the US, and since a lot of my friends from Columbus were coming up to Chicago for the Crash, I wanted to stop and catch up.  It was a fun weekend, and a great way to wind down the USA summer tour.  The picture above is almost from the identical spot I took for my first blog post from the road back in June.

I got in Saturday, so missed the first day’s events, but still was able to take part in a few weekend events.  The first was a walking tour that my friends and I missed out on for the most part due to a late start.  We spent most of the morning trying to find the group, and finally found them at the last stop.  The premiere event of the Crash seemed to be the Saturday night pub crawl.  I feel like I’m getting a little too old for pub crawls, but this one was pretty fun.  You need a catchy gimmick to make a pub crawl cool and interesting, and Chicago delivered.  We rode school buses around the city…

One of the stops was the beach which was a beautiful site at night.  I took off my shoes and got into the water.  It was a little too cold for a swim, but some people went for it.

The following day our Columbus group had breakfast, and then we went to the beach.  We just sat around and talked, got some sun, and watched the waves.  Busy day.

That’s Lake Michigan, and while my friends from California may not like to call that a beach, it’s the closest we can get in the Midwest.  My friends and I followed up a day at the beach by going to the top of the John Hancock building and having a drink at the restaurant up there.  Kind of pricey, but what a view.  The camera on my phone doesn’t really do it justice, unfortunately.

We wrapped things up Sunday night by going out with the group to a couple bars in Wrigleyville… where the Cubs play, and where my host lives.  Not much else to report here.  It was pretty much a weekend of partying and having some laughs with friends I hadn’t seen in a few months.  I don’t normally drink that much alcohol in one weekend, but it was fun, and glad I went.

Leave a Reply

