Cold Feet and Final Prep

Out of all the stories I read about vagabonders, I don’t recall anyone having cold feet. This past weekend, however, I experienced some pretty severe stress and anxiety over what I’m about to do. Looking back, I think it had a lot do with the fact I turned my notice in at work, but still haven’t sold my house.  Late Saturday evening, I reached a breaking point and went for walk at 10:00PM. The air was cool, with a little breeze, and nothing but silence and darkness. I stewed over a lot of details. One mile turned into two and then three. I finally came to two significant conclusions that helped my mental state:

1. The house will sell this summer based on my recent price drop. It has to. It’s just too low to ignore at this point.

2.  What’s scarier and more stressful?  Spending a little more money on carrying costs for my house, utilities and maintenance?  Or, continuing to live the same life, and do the exact same things, and have the exact same experiences day after day after day?

My three mile walk became four miles, then five and ended up at six.  In the end, I was tired, but my anxiety level had subsided significantly.  I know this trip is the right thing to do, and I will make it happen.  If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you always got.  I don’t know who said this, but I love it, and it’s one of my core beliefs.

Leave a Reply

